My DVR is gone!

Day 18 / $2850 Paid  /  $92,302.22 until freedom

Another payment made

We received our rebate check for $250 from the old credit card.  I also received my Amazon gift cards and my ipod shuffle.  Yay!  I need to call and cancel the credit card now.  We don’t need to have 2 credit cards.  I will call on Monday to cancel.  I also checked Ben’s medical spending account and there is plenty of money in there.  I wrote a check to ourselves for $351.01 to cover the prescription sunglasses I purchased a few months ago.  So, I was able to put another $600 toward the credit card.  It feels really good.  I just got rent money ($500) from my brother this morning.  I will deposit that today and make another payment on Monday.

My goal this month is to pay $4000 toward the credit card.  After I deposit the rent money today and make another payment toward the credit card, I will have $650 left to reach my goal for the month.  I get paid 2 times this month.  So, I think I will exceed my goal.  Yay!

I am hoping to pay off the credit card by the end of July.  Then we can tackle the car payment.  I am hoping to have that paid off by the end of October.

Cable and DVR gone!

Well, I was supposed to return the cable box last Tuesday.  I can’t find the remote anywhere.  Plus, I think I was procrastinating getting rid of my FAVORITE – DVR!  I finally broke down and returned the cable box without the remote yesterday on my way to work.  I forgot the internet modem.  Duh!  I was on my way to work so I will have to return the modem on Monday.  That is how I am writing this blog right now.  We still have internet.  We plan on cleaning the basement/laundry room today so hopefully we will find the remote.  If not, it is a $25 charge.

So, without the cable box, we actually have decent signal and have 12 channels.  We are still trying to figure out the best way to get internet service.  Ben did some research and it looks like Mediacom is the only company that provides internet to our area.  They want to charge $70 a month for ONLY internet.  They are crazy!  Ben is going to call and try and do some haggling!  🙂

Breaking the spending habit

We have been really good about spending money so far.  In the past, we would never hesitate to stop at a restaurant for some good food while we were out and about.  There have been many opportunities these last couple of weeks but we stayed strong and waited until we got home to eat.  I have been packing snacks to take with us in the car to hold us over.  That has helped a lot.

I only used the credit card once this whole week.  I spent $6 to send out some mail.  I had to use the credit card because the post office doesn’t accept any other type of payment.  I didn’t have to get gas or groceries.  I am not sure what Ben spent.

I did stop by McDonalds once to get a happy meal for Whitney.  It was only $3.50 and I used my allowance money.  She actually ate the whole thing even the chicken nuggets!

I also used the Amazon gift cards ($30) to buy Whitney a dvd movie, The Lion King.  I love that movie.

Working Mind Set

In the past, I never remembered when I got a paycheck from work.  It didn’t matter to me because I didn’t have to worry much about money.  We always pay our bills on time and we always have extra money.  It has been really nice not having to pray for payday like some do.  As for working, there are times when it is slow and staff has to be sent home early due to budget.  I always volunteered first to go home early.  I also made the decision for those days when I was sent home early, not to use any vacation to help cover the missing hours.  It just didn’t matter to me.  I wanted to save my vacation hours for actual vacation!

Now, I am starting to think a little differently.  I added my paydays on my calendar so I know when I get paid.  I am not volunteering to go home early anymore.  There were a few days where it was mandatory to go home early.  I am paying myself vacation to cover those missing hours.  There is a lot of money per hour that I am missing if I don’t work.  I really want to pay these bills off so I have to think that way.

My end goal after our financial fasting is successful, is to go casual at work.  Going casual at works means that I only pick up hours when needed.  I don’t have to work weekends, holidays, or work any call shifts.  I want to spend more time with my daughter because she is growing up so fast!  On the other hand, it bothers me to want to go casual.  I make good money and to not work regular hours seems like robbery.  So, I am conflicted.  But, my daughter means the world to me and if I have to sacrifice making good money for a few years then it is what it is.  I would still be working some but not to my full potential.

I just started a new position at work about a month ago.  I am getting paid a little more per hour so that helps.  I only work 10 days month.  I plan on picking up extra hours but it is difficult to pick up because I don’t want to work.  I know that I need to though so I did pick up an extra shift on Monday.  If I worked full time right now, our financial fasting would be done in a year for sure!  But, working as RN full time is crazy.  It is mentally and physically exhausting.  I used to work a .8 (4 days a week) plus weekend call, holidays, and weeknight call shifts but when I had Whitney I cut down to a .6 (3 days a week).

I am now working as the Evening Charge Nurse in PACU (Post-Anesthesia Care Unit) from 2pm – 10:30 pm.  I work .5 (2 days one week; 3 days the next week).  I don’t work holidays or weekends.  However, I am on call every other Friday night until 7am Saturday morning.  Working these new hours gives me more time with my daughter in the mornings.  It is so wonderful.  Working evenings is a bit challenging but worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DVR is gone!

  1. Kristy says:

    Don’t forget….the library has movies too! That should hold you and Whitney over with your missing DVR and TV nowadays! I think you can keep the movies for a full week, unless they are new releases. 🙂

Leave a Reply

